People

Directors

Name Phone Email Office

Lori Adams

Co-Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Biology

(319) 335-1322 lori-adams@uiowa.edu 169 BB

Vincent G. J. Rodgers

Co-Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy
Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy

(319) 335-1219 vincent-rodgers@uiowa.edu 513 VAN

Meaghan Rowe-Johnson

Assistant Director, Iowa Biosciences Academy
Graduate Research Assistant

(319) 335-1322 meaghan-rowe-johnson@uiowa.edu 169 BB

Current Mentors

Name Phone Email Office

E. Dale Abel

IBA Core Mentor; Chief, Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism

319-353-3050 dale-abel@uiowa.edu 4312 PBDB

Kelly Baker

IBA Core Mentor; Assistant Professor

(319) 384-4008 kelly-k-baker@uiowa.edu S316 CPHB

Mark Blumberg

IBA Core Mentor; F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor

(319) 335-2424 mark-blumberg@uiowa.edu E234 SSH

Thomas Casavant

Roy J. Carver, Jr. Chair in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, Biomedical Engineering; Professor Biomedical Engineering; Electrical and Computer Engineering; Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

(319) 335-5953 tom-casavant@uiowa.edu 5316 Seamans Center for the Engineering Arts and Sciences

Songhai Chen

Associate Professor of Pharmacology; Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

319-384-4562 songhai-chen@uiowa.edu 2-250 Bowen Science Building

Sandra Daack-Hirsch

IBA Core Mentor; Associate Professor

(319) 335-7061 sandra-daack-hirsch@uiowa.edu 364 CNB

Brandon Davies

Assistant Professor of Biochemistry

319-335-3225 brandon-davies@uiowa.edu 3326 PBDB

Natalie Denburg

Associate Professor of Neurology

319-356-7619 natalie-denburg@uiowa.edu 2155 RCP

John F. Engelhardt

IBA Core Mentor; DEO and Chair, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology

319-335-7744 john-engelhardt@uiowa.edu 1-100 BSB

Albert Erives

Associate Professor

(319) 335-2418 albert-erives@uiowa.edu 424 Biology Building

Michael Flatté

Director, Optical Science Technology Center; Professor

(319) 335-0201 michael-flatte@uiowa.edu 406 VAN

Tori Forbes

IBA Core Mentor; Assistant Professor

319-384-1320 tori-forbes@uiowa.edu W374 CB

Laurence Fuortes

IBA Core Mentor; Professor

(319) 335-9819 laurence-fuortes@uiowa.edu S351 CPHB

Kenneth Gayley

Associate Professor

(319) 335-3282 kenneth-gayley@uiowa.edu 07 VAN

Ruth Grossman

Assistant Professor

319-335-7111 ruth-grossmann@uiowa.edu 482 CNB

Douglas Houston

IBA Core Mentor; Associate Professor

(319) 335-1316 douglas-houston@uiowa.edu 257 BB

Ryan LaLumiere

IBA Core Mentor; Assistant Professor

319-335-3657 ryan-lalumiere@uiowa.edu E219 SSH

Cornelia Lang

Associate Professor

(319) 335-1945 cornelia-lang@uiowa.edu 703 VAN

Melissa Lehan-Mackin

Assistant Professor

319-335-3045 melissa-lehan@uiowa.edu 454 CNB

Susan Lutgendorf

Professor & Starch Faculty Fellow

(319) 335-2432 susan-lutgendorf@uiowa.edu E228 SSH

James McNamara

Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Hematology, Oncology and Blood and Marrow Transplantation

319-335-8491 james-mcnamara@uiowa.edu 3270C CBRB

William Nauseef

Professor, Internal Medicine

(319) 335-4278 william-nauseef@uiowa.edu FT 11

Maurine Neiman

IBA Core Mentor; Associate Professor

(319) 384-1814 maurine-neiman@uiowa.edu 324B Biology Builiding

Megan Foley Nicpon

Associate Professor

319-335-5575 megan-foley-nicpon@uiowa.edu N330 Lindquist Center

Molly Nikolas

Assistant Professor

319-335-2455 molly-nikolas@uiowa.edu E112 SSH

Peggy Nopoulos

IBA Core Mentor; Professor

319-384-9264 peggy-nopoulos@uiowa.edu W278 General Hospital

Andrew Pieper

Professor of Psychiatry; Professor of Neurology, Radiation Oncology, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

319-353-5781 andrew-pieper@uiowa.edu 1318 Pappajohn Biomedical Discovery Building

Matthew Potthoff

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology

319-384-4438 matthew-potthoff@uiowa.edu 3322 Pappajohn Biomedical Discover Building

Kevin Rice

Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics / Division of Medicinal and Natural Products Chemistry

(319) 335-9903 kevin-rice@uiowa.edu

Michael Schultz

Associate Professor of Radiology - Division of Nuclear Medicine; Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Radiation Oncology

319-335-8017 michael-schultz@uiowa.edu B180 ML

Madeline Shea

IBA Core Mentor; Professor of Biochemistry

319-335-7885 madeline-shea@uiowa.edu 4-450 BSB

Diane Slusarski

Professor

(319) 335-3229 diane-slusarski@uiowa.edu 246A Biology Building

Daniel Tranel

IBA Core Mentor; Professor (Neurology/Psychological & Brain Sciences)

319-384-6050 daniel-tranel@uiowa.edu 2206 RCP

Sharon Tucker

Director, Nursing Research, EBP & Quality

319-356-0518 sharon-tucker@uiowa.edu T100 GH

Gideon Zamba

IBA Core Mentor; Associate Professor

(319) 384-1586 gideon-zamba@uiowa.edu N350 CPHB

Undergraduate Students

Name Email Mentor Program Year

Maya Amjadi

Student

maya-amjadi@uiowa.edu William Nauseef 2014

Anamar Blanes

Student

anamar-blanes@uiowa.edu 2016

Nicole Cady

Student

nicole-cady@uiowa.edu Ruth Grossman 2016

Michael Dominguez

Student

michael-dominguez@uiowa.edu Michael Flatté 2013

Timothy Fuqua

Student

timothy-fuqua@uiowa.edu Albert Erives 2015

Lander Geadelmann

Student

lander-geadelmann@uiowa.edu Cornelia Lang 2015

Gunther Hansen

Student

gunther-hansen@uiowa.edu 2016

Zosia Horak

Student

zosia-horak@uiowa.edu Ryan LaLumiere 2015

Camille Jaime

Student

camille-jaime@uiowa.edu 2016

Se Jin Kim

Student

sejin-kim@uiowa.edu Songhai Chen 2016

Evan Lamb

Student

evan-lamb@uiowa.edu Diane Slusarski 2015

Rikki Laser

Student

rikki-laser@uiowa.edu Mark Blumberg 2016

Nicholas McCarty

Student

nicholas-mccarty@uiowa.edu E. Dale Abel 2014

Alexandria Miller

Student

alexandria-miller@uiowa.edu Michael OHara 2016

Elissa Monteiro

Student

elissa-monteiro@uiowa.edu Megan Foley Nicpon 2015

Sadie Moore

Student

sadie-moore@uiowa.edu Kenneth Gayley 2016

Jorge Moreno

Student

jorge-moreno@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman 2016

William Narhi-Martinez

Student

william-narhi@uiowa.edu Susan Lutgendorf 2015

Maria Nunez Hernandez

Student

maria-nunezhernandez@uiowa.edu Madeline Shea 2013

Chibuzo Nwakama

Student

chibuzo-nwakama@uiowa.edu Thomas Casavant

Angela Olvera

Student

angela-olvera@uiowa.edu E. Dale Abel 2015

Crystal Padilla

Student

crystal-padilla@uiowa.edu

Vincent Parra

Student

vincent-parra@uiowa.edu Tori Forbes 2015

Logan Pillard

Student

logan-pillard@uiowa.edu Natalie Denburg 2016

Edwin Sagastume

Student

edwin-sagastume@uiowa.edu Jennifer Fiegel 2012

Ashley Segura-Roman

Student

ashley-segura-roman@uiowa.edu Brandon Davies 2016

Callie Shannon

Student

callie-shannon@uiowa.edu 2015

Morgane Tatchoum

Student

morgane-tatchoum@uiowa.edu

Paul Taufalele

Student

paul-taufalele@uiowa.edu E. Dale Abel 2015

Hannah Tykol

Student

hannah-tykol@uiowa.edu Melissa Lehan-Mackin 2015

Tracy Vo

Student

tracy-vo@uiowa.edu Maurine Neiman 2014

Graduate Students

Name Email Mentor Program Year

Rondine Allen

Graduate Research Assistant

rondine-allen@uiowa.edu Kevin Rice 2016

Franklin Bright

Graduate Research Assistant

franklin-bright@uiowa.edu James McNamara 2016

Undergraduate Alumni

Name Phone Email Office

Maurisa Aimable

Research Assistant, Dows Institute UIowa

Jacqueline Bannon

Student

jacqueline-bannon@uiowa.edu

Sarah Bannon

PhD Candidate in Psychology, Stony Brook University

Chelia Briner

Alfonza Brown

Postgraduate Summer Research Fellow ORISE at U.S. Army Public Health Command

Natalia Cardona

Process Improvement Engineer, Alcoa

Steven Dominguez, Jr.

Student

steven-dominguez@uiowa.edu

LauRen Gaines

Ashlynn Gerth

PhD Candidate in Psychology (Behavioral Neuroscience) University of Illinois, Chicago

Alejandra Gonzalez

Student

alejandra-gonzalez@uiowa.edu

Maia Griffith

Student at Emory University School of Medicine

Kaitlyn Jones

Home Health Aide at HomeSafe

kaitlyn-jones@uiowa.edu

Olivia Jones

MPH Student (Epidemiology) at The George Washington University

Hannah Miller

Student

hannah-miller@uiowa.edu

Alexis Miller

Student

alexis-n-miller@uiowa.edu

Evan Paelmo

Student

evan-paelmo@uiowa.edu

Edgardo Ramirez

Cancer Research Training Award (CRTA) Fellow, National Cancer Institute

edgardo-ramirez@uiowa.edu

Nicole Richardson

MPH Student (Epidemiology) at Emory University

Nicholas Rolston

PhD Candidate in Applied Physics at Stanford University

Lucero Sanchez

PhD Candidate in Chemistry at Indiana University

Nicholas Sattler

Research Assistant, University of Iowa

nicholas-sattler@uiowa.edu

Shacoya Smith

Orthodics & Prosthetics Student at St. Petersburg College

Frederick Zasadny

Student

frederick-zasadny@uiowa.edu

Graduate Alumni

Name Phone Email Office

Toby Avalos

Graduate Research Assistant

toby-avalos@uiowa.edu

Johnny Cruz Corchado

Graduate Research Assistant

(319) 335-1126 johnny-cruzcorchado@uiowa.edu 215 BB

Victoria Parker

Graduate Research Assistant

victoria-parker@uiowa.edu S311 PHAR

Jessica Ponce

Graduate Research Assistant

(319) 335-7916 jessica-ponce@uiowa.edu 3136 MERF

Eric Rodriguez

Graduate Research Assistant

(319) 335-8831 eric-a-rodriguez@uiowa.edu S311 PHAR

Brigitte Vanle

Graduate Research Assistant

(319) 335-8802 brigitte-vanle@uiowa.edu S311 PHAR

Amanda Ward

Graduate Research Assistant

amanda-m-ward@uiowa.edu

Brittany Williams

Graduate Research Assistant

brittany-williams@uiowa.edu

University of Iowa Advisors

Name Phone Email Office

Saba Rasheed Ali

Associate Professor

Daniel Eberl

Professor

Pamela Geyer

Professor

(319) 335-6953 pamela-geyer@uiowa.edu 3135E MERF

John Keller

Associate Provost for Graduate Education

Colleen Mitchell

Associate Professor; Director, SLOAN Center

Ann Ricketts

Assis. VP for Research, Communications & External Relations

Sheila Schechinger

Senior Assistant Director, Outreach & Recruitment, UI Admissions

James Torner

Professor and Head of Department of Epidemiology

Deandrea Watkins

Multicultural Specialist, UI STEM Programs

Dan Weeks

Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in Biochemistry

External Advisors

Name Phone Email Office

Sarah England

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Former IBA Director

(314) 286-1798 Englands@wustl.edu

Richard McGee

Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment & Professional Development

(312) 503-1737 r-mcgee@northwestern.edu Rubloff Building Suite 12-129

Michael Summers

Professor

(410) 455-2527 summers@hhmi.umbc.edu CHEM 182A

Staff

Name Phone Email Office

Steve Kehoe

Marketing Coordinator, IBA
Administrative Services Coordinator, Biology

(319) 335-1050 steve-kehoe@uiowa.edu 143 BB

Brinda Shetty

Program Manager, IBA

(319) 335-1322 brinda-shetty@uiowa.edu 169 BB